Album Of The Day: Norma Jean Vs The Anti Mother

Norma Jean used to be the heaviest band I listened to and when ‘Bless The Martyr and Kiss The Child’ came out in 2002 I was 14 and didn’t really listen to much heavy music, I was having an Oi punk phase then, somehow I came across the song ‘Face:Face’ (probably from Limewire and the like, nothing was ever named right!) It was the most insane and noisy thing I had ever heard, it took me ages to get to a point where I could even tell what was going on. Its funny because now I listen to it and it doesn’t seem heavy at all and yet on first listen all I could hear was white noise!

Eventually I started getting into more and more Hardcore and therefore into math, metal and all other types of sub genres and Norma Jean became a staple band on my listening rotations. Then when this album came out just over a year ago it blew me away more than any album since ‘Bless The Martyr’ because they had changed direction a bit and had some of the experimentation and singing of post hardcore thrown into the mix. It also featured some amazing guests including Page Hamilton and Chino Moreno.

The best song on the album is ‘Robots: 3, Humans: 0’ which has Moreno and Cove Reber from Saosin on.

The full video is embed disabled so if you wanna see it go here

The full album can be found here on Spotify

4 Responses to “Album Of The Day: Norma Jean Vs The Anti Mother”

  1. […] Norma Jeans old singer, Josh Scogin, started this band back in ’03 and has been making wonderfully insane mathcore ever since. This is the latest album and shit gets pretty experimental in places definitely more than The Fiancee […]

  2. […] up brutality of “Bless the Martyr and Kiss the Child” to the more grooving “The Anti Mother“. It is a heavy as balls album but you can here a lot of riffs are a bit slower and have a […]

  3. […] the original singer from Norma Jean, Josh Scogin, left after the seminal album ”Bless the Martyr and Kiss the Child” He […]

Leave a comment