Album Of The Day: The Cardigans – Gran Turismo

Yes, I know it is a bit of a departure from my normal listening but I cannot stop listening to this album at the moment. Maybe it’s because it takes me back to when it was released in 1998 and I was 10 years old and had a record collection of about 5 albums, most of which were Christmas presents (btw if anyone wants to make me Christmas hampers full of music and alcohol to give me on Christmas day go right ahead…) So along with Dido, ATB, Kernkraft 400 and Nirvana, I am surprised that I managed to make it to now and still be interested in music. That selection would have killed of most peoples musical tastes and they would probably have grown up to be massive fans of N-Dubz. This album was easily one of my favourites at the time though and I listened to it constantly until my sister borrowed it and I never saw it again.

Then randomly I got Erase/Rewind in my head and hit up Spotify to listen to it again, 11 years after first buying the album. Obviously when I was 10 I probably didn’t appreciate the amazing nuances and genre hopping abilities of the band but overall they have managed to come out with a funk/jazz/soul/pop mish mash that sounds like a girl version of muse when they do the slow epic parts. Also i’ll just throw this out there, think Bjork as well.

Best song is probably the opener ‘Paralyzed’, which is just hauntingly beautiful.

The full album can be found here on Spotify

One Response to “Album Of The Day: The Cardigans – Gran Turismo”

Leave a Reply

