Album Of The Day: Every Time I Die – New Junk Aesthetic

When I got this album I promised a full review to go with my quick one word review I did and well, I never really got round to it. So I will do it now at the same time as making it my album of the day.

If you are an ETID fan already I can describe this album by saying it has taken the groove and more grown up writing of The Big Dirty but it has the same ferociousness and chaos as Hot Damn. For everyone else I will say this album sounds like what hardcore should have always been, the southern rock influences of The Big Dirty have evolved into thrash and I think they really should have Scott Ian doing guitars on one song, that would be epic!

The opener I described in my first review as ‘atmospheric’ and that was probably one of the easier ones to describe. A slow grinding intro that hints at some of the chaos that is about to unfold, I really like when ETID do the slow soundscapes it saves them feeling like they need to do breakdowns every 5 seconds on every song like certain other hardcore bands at the moment.

The Marvellous Slut is the shortest song and it is mental from the get go, you can tell this is the song that Greg from DEP is on without a moments doubt. It is short sweet and makes you want to smash shit up.

Wanderlust is the first single and is so obviously the track most people will love from the album, it’s the new ‘The New Black’ and I don’t mean that in a bad way, Keith has one of the best singing voices in rock at the moment and can pull off singing without sounding like a little kid like most bands who sing and scream.

White Smoke is their punk masterpiece along with The Sweet Life (featuring Matt Caughthran from The Bronx) and both songs remind you exactly where this band came from, hardcore may be very close to metal these days but it is still punk and these songs really show why.

After One Quarter Of A Revolution is where the thrash influences come into their own on this album the opening could be on an early 90’s album easily. Funnily enough this is also the song Pete Wentz is on, possibly the most credible thing he has ever done, the boy done well!

So they are the highlights but to be honest every song is as good as the rest but i’m just too lazy to talk about each song.

Best song, I’m gonna go out on a limb and say is Turtles All The Way Down, the opening is heavy as balls!

The full album can be found here on Spotify

Full Tracklisting:

  1. Roman Holiday
  2. The Marvelous Slut
  3. Who Invited The Russian Soldier?
  4. Wanderlust
  5. For The Record
  6. White Smoke
  7. Turtles All The Way Down
  8. Organ Grinder
  9. Host Disorder
  10. After One Quarter Of A Revolution
  11. The Sweet Life
  12. Buffalo 666 – Bonus track
  13. Goddam Kids These Days – Bonus track

2 Responses to “Album Of The Day: Every Time I Die – New Junk Aesthetic”

  1. […] done as a joke that backfired when it was too late to change it) this is some good quality Every Time I Die style southern hardcore. A sadly short lived band only releasing this one full length, they have […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: