Album Of The Day: Mastodon – Crack The Skye

The newest album by Mastodon and it is constantly topping best of ’09 lists at the moment, I would say I mostly agree but obviously the best album of 2009 is Every Time I Die – New Junk Aesthetic and then Converge – Axe To Fall ranks just above Crack The Skye, so I would tentatively put it at 3rd, although I will be making a full best of ’09 list soon so keep an eye out for it.

A truly epic album that has all the crazy lyrics of your typical prog band, I’m not sure how you crack the skye, unless they are talking about the hole in the ozone layer and they have actually made an album about climate change?! (Just looked and according to Wikipedia it is about Rasputin’s soul flying through the crack in the sky…I still don’t get it)

A way more classic sounding album than they normally do and the first single Divinations even has some proper Ozzy style vocals, the best song on the album though is the second single and opening track Oblivion, which has an amazing chorus part. Ace video as well.

The full album can be found on Spotify here

3 Responses to “Album Of The Day: Mastodon – Crack The Skye”

  1. […] already had Mastodon’s newest release Crack The Skye as my album of the day before and today we’re going to have the 2006 album Blood Mountain for […]

  2. […] I could take them or leave them. Then this album came out and I honestly think they have made Mastodon’s Crack The Skye for the hardcore genre. Honestly it is that […]

Leave a Reply

